My Must-Travel-to List

Since the age of 5, I’ve moved to four different countries, lived in five different continents, learned to speak French, have moved into nine different houses, and have been to ten different schools.
And I don’t even remember how many places I’ve been to on vacation (or accompanying my parents on business trips, as a child).

You see, I come from a travelling family. Because of my parents’ job, my father travels very often, mostly to Africa and the United States. My dad knows most airport staff like they’re his childhood friends, and has earned so many miles because of his frequent flying.

The thing is, having moved so many times, most people would expect me to want to just settle down in one place and be content.
The problem is, I don’t know if people realize, that if you’ve travelled that much, you get used to the fact that the country you’re currently residing in,  is just a pass-through.
You get used to the fact that some of your friends are only your “friends for now”. And when you go to International schools, there’s always somebody in your school who knew somebody you knew in your old school. It’s a very small world, but there’s so much to see!

I’ve decided, that once I’ve finished my studies, I’m going to try and travel the world. I want to visit new places, learn new languages, meet new people, learn about new cultures. There are so many different people to meet, and things to do on our beautiful planet.

So because I like lists as most of you know, here’s a list of places I must travel to after college.


1) Liverpool, England
Because that’s where the Beatles are from. I also want to take the Beatles’ tour, and walk the grounds that the Fab Four have stepped on. Yeaaah, I know, I’m wack.

 2) New York, USA
I’ve been to NY when I was really little, but I would love to go again, at this age, to really appreciate the night life. I love busy cities, shopping and meeting random people, so I think that New York would be the best place to visit again.

3) Mexico City, Mexico
I don’t know why, but this is one of the places that I imagine myself trying amazing new foods, dancing to Mexican music and milking goats.

4) Jerusalem, Israel
I MUST go to Israel. It looks beautiful! After seeing so many pictures, I love the Jewish culture and the the scenery looks amazing. I think it also has to do with the fact that I’ve been watching a lot of Bible movies in Church.

5) Tunis, Tunisia
I have a Tunisian friend who tells me that it’s the best place on earth, for MANY reasons (she knows what I’m talking about). I’ve been there before, just passing through the airport,  but the scenery looks gorgeous.

6) Athens, Greece
I want to visit the ancient ruins, as well as the traditional greek white and blue villas. I want to walk through the streets of Athens, and feel like I’m in A Midsummer Night’s Dream.

7) Venice, Italy
You may laugh, but the main reason why I want to go to Venice is because of Barbie. When I was little, I used to collect those hot pink Barbie books in which Barbie gets to travel everywhere. In one story, she went to Venice, wearing the most BEAUTIFUL dress I had ever seen, to a masquerade ball. The outfit had so much impact on me that I ordered a porcelain doll version of “Barbie in Venice” to put on display in my room, and I immediately decided that I have to visit Venice one day. I also would love to ride in a gondola.

8) Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
I have wanted to go to Brazil since I was really young. I want to see the Christ the Redeemer statue, as well as learn how to dance in a Brazilian carnival. I want to play soccer with the hot Brazilians, and play drums with the kids.

9) Victoria, Seychelles
I want to go to Victoria. I MUST go there. Ever since I saw Dezil’s San Ou music video, I’ve been longing to visit the crystal clear waters of Seychelles. Actually, it’s just for the water.
Because I’m from the Carribean, nothing else would be very new to me.

10) Zagreb, Croatia
My friends are actually going to Croatia this summer. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to join them, but I would LOVE to see the nature and the beautiful scenery there as well.

11) Sydney, Australia
Now THAT’S a place I must see! Since Kangaroo Jack and the Olsen twins’ Our Lips Are Sealed movies, I’ve felt a strong need to quietly travel to Sydney and have the time of my life. I also want to hug a koala bear.

12) New Delhi, India
I want to see the Taj Mahal. That’s actually the most important thing for me. I want to meet Bollywood actresses, and eat the delicious spicy Indian food.

13) Nairobi, Kenya
A few years ago, I met this Kenyan friend of mine who wouldn’t stop talking about his homeland. After seeing pictures, movies and articles about Nairobi, I just had to put this one on my list!

14) Amsterdam, Netherlands
I was there last year, surprising my best friend who lives in the Hague. It was AMAZING. I think it’s my favorite place in the world, and I definately want to go back again.

15) Cannes, France
I love France in general, but I especially love the South of France and the beaches. I want to go to Cannes, because I feel that it’s a more sophisticated version of St Tropez, and there’s so much to see!

16) Ibiza, Spain
Because it’s the PARTY island!! Everybody says so, everybody wants to go, they speak Spanish, and apparently, there’s a very large hippy population there.

17) Cancun, Mexico
I’ve always wanted to go to Cancun for the same reasons why I wanted to go to Mexico City: because it’s Mexico, and it’s AWESOME.

18) Tokyo, Japan
Okay, now THIS is an awesome place. I want to meet Harajuku girls. I want to go to the Shinjuku Gate Land to take pictures with the huge Hello Kitty. I want to eat veggie sushi.
I want to wear a Kimono. I want to be Japanese for a day.

3 thoughts on “My Must-Travel-to List

  1. By the way, great blog. Those happen to be some of my favorite places to travel to in the world. Also, you did not pass through Tunisia, it was Morocco. I think you were too young to remember. With love. Daddy.

Say something!

