Things to do when you’re bored :)

I easily get bored. Especially since I deactivated my Facebook two weeks ago in order to study for my exams. When I’m not studying, I download TV shows. When I’m not downloading TV shows, I watch the ones I’ve downloaded. When I’m not watching them, I eat cereal. When I’m not eating cereal, I’m drinking orange juice. When I’m not drinking orange juice, I’m walking in the park.
You may think that this would be such a busy filled-up day, but my friend, I guarantee you that I am EASILY bored. So what did I do?

Because I love Google and because I love lists, I decided to google “Things to do when you’re bored” and found loads of cool ideas. So I piled them all into a list of 17 things (with some of my own)!

1. Read The Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld
Yeah yeah, nowadays, books don’t exist – not even in schools. But some of us still get brain food by reading instead of staring at the TV, even when there’s nothing on. The best thing about reading, is that you can invent the characters however you like, and there’s more to imagine. I’m a very imaginative person, and if you think about it, the TV’s just imagining everything for you. What’s the fun in that?
Anyway, this book is great for girls or guys to read, it’s sci-fi, and it’s about the future.
Check out the summary  here  and see what you think! 

2. Try not to think of penguins. 
I laughed at this one. I find it quite amusing. This is especially hard, because by trying too much, you remember what you were trying to avoid thinking of. If you try too little, you end up thinking about penguins anyway.

3. Use your secret mind power
Pick a passing by and try to use your mind power to command them do something, like drop their bag or knock into someone. The law of averages dictates that sooner or later one of your mind commands will come true, so you can convince yourself that you really have super human powers and waste even more time trying them out. The problem with this, is that I do this even when I’m busy. Like when I’m in class and I don’t want the teacher to call on me, I choose a victim and chant his/her name in my head until the teacher says that student’s name instead of mine :)

4. Rate passers by
As you walk around public places, I’m pretty sure you’ve noticed the hundreds of painfully fashion-challenged people passing by you.
Sometimes, I’d see a child wearing orange checkered pants with a purple striped shirt and a sparkly belt and long blue socks with green roller-shoes walking around like it’s okay. IT’S NOT OKAY TO DRESS YOUR CHILDREN LIKE THAT.
Yesterday, for the first time in a long time, I saw a little girl that looked about five years old, wearing the CUTEST sky blue lace dress I’d ever seen. She was wearing a brown leather skinny belt to go with it and white flats. I immediately wanted to steal her outfit. I mean really, nobody ever envies five-year-old girl’s clothing, but we should.
Okay, enough with the ranting, I suggest that when you’re bored, rate the people that pass by you, out of 10, and give them mental criticism and fashion advice. It’ll do you good.

5. Make a low buzzing noise
Hours of fun in libraries! Keeping a totally straight face and looking nonchalant, make a low pitch humming/buzzing noise and see who reacts. I actually do this all the time in public, except that I cover my mouth discreetly and start yodelling. Everybody’s looking around to see who’s making such an awful racket – including me.

6. Try to climb through all the rooms in your home without touching the floor
I used to pretend I was Spider Girl so I’d try and do this, but failed every time.

7. Slide down your staircase, no matter how big or small it is.
I’ve always done this since I was very little. In fact, one time I slid down so fast (I was probably about four years old), I found myself hanging on the outside of the staircase while a life size Princess Yenega statue (a legendary West African warrior princess) was pointing her spear at my derrière. I don’t know what happened but two minutes later, I found myself back on the other side.

8. Knock down all the interior walls of your home, creating one large empty space. Once done, sit in the middle of the giant room and contemplate your life.
If had the money, I swear I would do this, just for the fun of it. But you see, not everybody wants their house torn down and made into a huge room. That’s what studios are for.

9. Snort a line of coffee.
I don’t know if this is a bad idea, but it seems like it’d be fun. Or I’d try cocoa powder.

10. Change your facebook relationship status to the opposite of what it normally is. Wait for “friends” to question your status.
The thing is, the friends I have on Facebook aren’t the type to go all Curious George on me if I change my relationship status. Who cares???

11. Eat Cereal.
When you’re bored, you eat, even when you’re not hungry. But because you’re bored, you’re lazy. When you’re lazy, you don’t want to cook. This explains the opening the fridge for five full minutes, staring, shutting it back and repeating this action for the next hour, hoping something new will appear.
The easiest thing to make is cereal. Grab a bowl, grab a spoon, grab a cereal box, grab a milk carton. EAT.

12. Listen to every single Beatles song and try to figure out which Beatle’s singing.
This will bore you if you’re not a Beatles fan, but if you are, believe me, it’s pretty fun, and you get really competetive with yourself. In the end, you gain knowledge because you would have officially been able to differentiate the Beatles’ voices in their harmonies.
Most of the time it’s Paul singing, then John, then George, and RARELY Ringo, but if you have a large variety of Beatles songs, it’s more challenging.

13. Roll up a carpet or rug so it looks big enough to accommodate a human body. Take it outside to your front lawn, put it down, and start digging a big hole. If you see a neighbor staring at you, give them a cold look and mouth the words “You’re next”.
I HAVE to try this. I think this is my favorite one.

14. Call random people on the phone and try to sell them imaginary products.
Kinda like when we were younger we’d prank call people. I think we think we grow out of it, but in fact, we don’t. Especially when we’re with a group of friends!

15.  Microwave s’mores. Or peanut butter s’mores.
I’ve actually never tried making s’mores before, but they’re probably really good. I love marshmellows and graham crackers so it might just be delicious.

16. Do a Google search for “test subjects needed” or “volunteers needed”. Volunteer for everything.
No joke, you seriously should volunteer for stuff. Volunteer in children hospitals, volunteer in nursing homes. Volunteer at an animal shelter. Volunteer as a Kindergarten teacher’s assistant.

17. Be NICE and go to OperationNice.com. Better yet, try one of the 88 ways to make a stranger smile here!
I’m generally a nice person. If you’re nice to me, I’ll be nice to you. I like being nice, it puts a smile on my face to see other people smile around me.

 

 

Say something!

