Yogurt Pasta, University and Beatles Art

Hello everyone :)
It’s been a while since I’ve last blogged, but I’ve had a lot of errands to run for university, and things on my mind.

First of all, university is quite the playground. Full of the children who play by themselves, the children who play together because their parents know each other, the children who stay close to the teachers, the children who stay with the ‘pretties’, the boys (scared of cooties) who stay with the boys, the girls whose only goal in life is to be a princess, and then there’s me. In my own world, happy to be a part of something so diverse.
I’ve decided that I like university from what I’ve seen. I have met so many different types of people, different races, different nationalities, different styles, shapes and ages. I love the diversity of the human race.
I got my first assignment, due in a week: write a newspaper article about ANY topic. And yes, I have chosen The Beatles. More specifically, The Beatles’ influence on the youth of the 60’s and 70’s.
Update: Here’s a link to download my assignment and read it for your own interest (for those of you who speak French): Les Beatles, leur impact sur la société occidentale – Zahra Louise-Julie.

Speaking of The Beatles, my sister painted a beautiful Beatles’ logo in rainbow, and with her permission, I’m sharing it with you :)

© All Rights Reserved – Safiya L-J
© All Rights Reserved – Safiya L-J

Finally, in the answer to my mother’s question (and many other people who know that I’m a vegetarian): YES, I AM FEEDING MYSELF. Yes, I’m eating healthy. In fact extremely healthy as I eat mostly organic foods.
Speaking of delicious vegetarian food, I tried a new recipe yesterday, called Yogurt Pasta, inspired by AllRecipes.com. Though it was missing a bit of salt and spices in my version, I found the taste heavenly.

Yogurt Pasta

Serves 7 Beatles’ fans

Ingredients

  • 1 (16 ounce) package pasta
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 cups plain yogurt
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 pinch of cinnamon

Directions

  1. Cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until al dente.
  2. Using a mortar and pestle, mash the salt and garlic cloves together into a paste. Warm the yogurt slightly in a sauce pan. Remove a small amount of warmed yogurt from the pan, add a pinch of cinnamon and stir together with the garlic paste. Stir this mixture into the remaining yogurt.
  3. Drain the pasta, and rinse in cold water. Place in a casserole or deep serving dish, toss with 1 tablespoon butter or margarine. Toss with half of the garlic-yogurt sauce. Spread the remaining sauce over the pasta. Garnish with the parsley.
  4. Pour over the parsley. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Yogurt Pasta, University and Beatles Art

Say something!

