Chillstep and Hot Chocolate :)

“Movement never lies. It is a barometer telling the state of the soul’s weather to all who can read it.” – Martha Graham

Good morning and good evening to all of you out there. It’s Autumn, my favorite time of the year, and it’s that awkward month of October when you vaguely remember your summer vacation and long for Christmas and New Year’s to come.

I haven’t written in about 14 days because I’ve been extremely busy with University work and part-time jobs. (I worked as a welcoming hostess and as an English tutor.)
But in this busy time of the year, comes the unexpected: new friends, new relationships and new hot chocolate recipes.

A few blog posts ago, I wrote about having a passion, and what it means to be passionate about something. I also wrote in another blog post how University is full of different, awesome or weird people.

Recently, I started dating a ‘different-weird-awesome’ person, Mike Dub, who was really nice to share his passion with me: chillstep.
What is chillstep? Exactly what it sounds like. According to Urban Dictionary, it’s a ‘musical genre composed of dubstep tracks with chill undertones’.

During an interesting conversation about chillstep, here’s what Mike Dub told me:

“My inspiration is Non-Stop, a dubstep dancer : he’s the one who made me discover dubstep. I watched the video « Pumped Up Kicks » with admiration, I saw the beauty of the correlation between the movements and the music put together. My favorite type of music to dance to is chill step. I didn’t know much about it before, I used to only like dubstep. Chillstep is more calm and relaxing ; I feel like I can express more things than with any other dance. Dance brings out joy, happiness and stability because sometimes when people are angry at someone or at something, even at a situation, dancing is just a way to expell the bad vibes through the energy you feel when you dance. Even if you think you can’t dance, you should dance for yourself, not for others, so you can express a feeling, a passion. It could be love, it could be hate, it could be anything. (Like in Elizabethtown when Orlando Bloom dances alone in the forest).

Before I never thought that dancing could help that much in some emotionally difficult situations but then I followed some friends’ advice telling me to dance and just let my body go with the rhythm. And once I did that, it was very hard to stop because the accumulation of everything building up inside me was pouring out.

I don’t consider myself as a good dancer, but all I want is to make others feel the energy and see the beauty of movement that Non-Stop made me see.”

You can check out a video of Mike Dub dancing here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-cFW_fJAFY
Make sure you suscribe to his Youtube channel :)

And before we go on to my new hot chocolate recipe, here’s a great chillstep song.

Carribean Hot Chocolate
Serves 1 Beatles fan

-1 tbsp of Cocoa Powder
-3/4 cup of milk
-A pinch of cinnamon
-A pinch of hot pepper
-A drop of honey
-3 tsps of sugar (optional)

Mix cocoa powder and milk together until lumps are gone. Heat up chocolate mix for 2 minutes. Stir until mix is frothy. Add cinnamon, hot pepper and sugar (optional). Add honey. Stir and taste. Serve :)

3 thoughts on “Chillstep and Hot Chocolate :)

Say something!

