The Most Beautiful Place on Earth

After a long weekend, being sick in bed, today I woke up feeling much better. I spent the day watching Disney Princess movies and then decided that I should probably get out of bed and do something with my day.

And so I got dressed (it’s suddenly freezing here) and took a walk.

I didn’t just take a walk down the street. Today, I decided to get lost. I purposely walked around, through small streets, crossing bridges, crossing big roads, turning left and turning right, until I couldn’t recognize where I was anymore.

The following playlist was playing on repeat all/shuffle on my blackberry:

12:59 Lullaby – Bedouin Soundclash
3 Rounds and a Sound – Blind Pilot (cf. blogpost about the album here.)
Coastline Journey – Mishka
Mrs. Cold – Kings of Convenience
Harmony to my Heartbeat – Sally Seltmann
Plage – Crystal Fighters
Poor Boy – Blind Pilot
Rule My World – Kings of Convenience

And as I walked and got lost, I observed everybody. I purposely didn’t look at street names, I looked at restaurant signs, in store windows, in people’s eyes, at the ground, at the sky, at the horizon. It was amazing to watch people living their lives, as if watching a movie.
I got so lost, I wasn’t even scared anymore, I felt like I was in a different city. I saw the strangest people, the funniest things.

Then I recognized where I was. So I started to run, and I realized that it was almost sunset. And then I saw the horizon, I saw the river, I saw the people, I saw the buildings.

I sat in between two boats, on the deck, and gazed at the most beautiful sunset, the most beautiful place on Earth. And I felt so happy, as if I finished a race.

I think that life happens that way. You decide to take a walk, take a chance and see where your decisions take you, what direction your feet will lead you. You end up lost, you get a bit scared, but then when you realize that everything will be okay, that you can always find your way back home, you just relax and listen to the music.
You watch people grow, people live. You watch life itself.

And then you find the most beautiful place on Earth.  And you’re not just captivated by the beauty of it all, you’re full of joy. And you just love it.

This picture was taken with my phone so it’s not very good quality. It doesn’t look like the most beautiful place on Earth, but it sure did feel like it :)

2 thoughts on “The Most Beautiful Place on Earth

Say something!

