Life, Helicopters & Paris

Hello all of you! It’s been quite a long time (16 days!) since my last blog post. As usual, I’ve been busy with University work and other silly errands.

May I just start with a Life Question? I just had to ask myself this, this morning as I was eating my cereal:

What if oxygen is poisonous and it just takes at least 80 years to kill us naturally?

Okay, that’s all.

Not much has really been going on, except for the fact that I’m currently babysitting the cutest little girl EVER. We’ll call her Bunny (she likes bunnies). Bunny’s the smartest three year old I know, speaks three languages (Italian, French and English) and mixes all three up. She’s just a bundle of joy.

The other day, we were trying to build one of those ridiculously hard-to-build helicopters that you make with bricks that look like lego bricks or something.
Do you know just HOW HARD it is to build one of those things? There are no instructions because they assume that the kids building the helicopter can’t read, which doesn’t make sense because um.. it says 2 – 8 years on the box. Assuming that the 6 to 8 year olds aren’t illiterate, I think that they can read instructions on how to build a helicopter.
And then the pictures aren’t accurate, and they think that we know what an arrow means, and that because it’s pointing to a certain screw or lego brick, that we’ll know what it is and how to use it.

Anyway, when I was completely devastated with building the helicopter, Bunny took the helicopter, and said “I will do it!” And I was like, “No, you can’t.” She looked at me, and was like “Uh huh”, and I was like “Nah-uh”, and after a million “Uh-huh/Nah-uh’s”, she smiled with her tiny milk teeth and said, “This hoctopo, il est le mine!” Which basically translates from French, English and Babyish to “This helicopter is mine.” And so that’s how Bunny decided that it was her job to build the helicopter because I was useless, and she was right. She built the “hoctopo”… and then teared it back apart.

On another happy note, I’m going to Paris today, and I can’t wait. I’m going to see a really good friend of mine that I haven’t seen in 5 years, and I’ve been so excited that this morning I did the same thing that I do before Christmas, before the first day of school, before graduation, before a party: I accidentally woke up like 7 hours before I was supposed to, and it was still dark outside, and I was like: “UGH be morning already!” (Has anybody else noticed that this type of thing NEVER happens the night before a long boring work day?)

Speaking of which, I don’t know if you guys remember, but I made a bucket list of things I was over excited about.
So I just wanted to let you know exactly what I’ve accomplished since then:

NOTHING!

Just kidding. Seriously, here’s the list:

1) Getting my prom dress.
I got it, it was awesome, I looked like a runaway bride, but it doesn’t matter because everybody knows that white looks amazing on dark-skinned people :)

2) Passing my Baccalaureat exams.
 I passed it with a “mention Assez Bien” which means that I got an above average score.. Meaning my Philosophy and Literature teachers must feel REALLY stupid for even thinking that I, Zahra L-J would ever fail the Baccalaureat exams.

3) Prom/Graduation.
Like I said before, Prom/Graduation was awesome, I still remember it like it was yesterday and I look at the pictures with nostalgic eyes. And then I remember After-Prom, which sucked, so I stop being soppy and go on Facebook.

4) Recording Why & Zee‘s first original song.
We recorded our song “Man the Hippie” for the first time, but then Yara, my singing partner decided to go to college in Toronto, so the Why & Zee project is currently on hold.

5) Summer Vacation.
Like I said before, I stayed most of the summer in Dubai, but it was awesome. My best friend Lexi surprise-visited me, I went to Paris and then moved into my appartment in Lyon. Then I went to Platja d’Aro in Spain. I had a blast there, and finally came back to Lyon and spent a few weeks with one of my best friends who also lives here now.

6) Moving into my apartment.
This was my favorite part. I decorated my apartment the very day I moved in, and I’m sorry to brag, but it looks AMAZING.

7) Blasting the Beatles in my apartment.
So I still do that, and it’s the best feeling ever.

8) College.
Yes, it’s still a bittersweet thing in life. College is awesome, college sucks. You meet great friends, you learn cool things, you get a lot of homework and that ONE teacher who’s jealous of your sense of humor hates you.

9) Seeing the friends I haven’t seen in yeaaaarrrs.
Well, I got to see a lot of my close friends that i hadn’t seen in such a long time, and today, I get to see one of my favorites, Jesse! (:

10) Getting a Job again.
I got a job, in fact I got three: A welcoming hostess for this company that sends beautiful young girls to meet doctors at their hotels and bring them to their conferences. Yes, that sounds wrong, but no it’s not what it sounds like. We just ride a bus with these people.
I’m an English tutor for adults, and it’s a lot of fun, seeing as this is what I want to do as a career (except for slightly younger people, like 5 year olds).
And I’m a part-time babysitter. And I already told you about Bunny :)

11) SHOPPING!
Yeah yeah, I still shop, but you know, not nearly half as much as I did in Dubai, because, erm, I’m not rich, and I’m a student.

12) Putting my music on Youtube.
Yeah no, haven’t done it yet. I don’t like my face when I sing, I don’t have a great microphone and I don’t have a great video camera. This will have to wait.

13) Meeting the remaining Beatles.
I still haven’t, and I WILL meet one of them. I will, I will, I will. (Oooh, like that song “I Will” by The Beatles)

14. I had to put a number ’14′ because I don’t like the number ’13′ and ’14′ is the double of ’7′ which is my favorite number.
I’m still basically excited about life, and what God has in store for me. I still can’t wait to be able to just get out there, LIVE and start achieving my dreams. Ta-da.

2 thoughts on “Life, Helicopters & Paris

Say something!

