The Ferris Wheel and the Elfie effect

Why yes, it has only been 4 days since our last encounter but you must know, I am really inspired. I have found my muse. And I will tell you about her, in a second.

Two days ago, my boyfriend decided to surprise me. After choir class (yes, we do choir lessons, and no, it’s not like Glee), we took the metro, and right before I got out, he blindfolded me.

It was the scariest thing ever. I hope I will never go blind one day. We were crossing streets, and I heard cars around me, and I was freaking out. It takes a lot of trust to do something like that, believe me.

So we got to wherever he wanted to take me, and said “Two tickets please”. And I was wondering where in the world was he taking me.
I sat down, he took off the blindfold…

And there I was, on a Ferris Wheel, the biggest one in Lyon, at Bellecour. I could see the whole city, its nightlife and all the beautiful people below.

And then we got to the top, and I started freaking out again, because this time, the Ferris Wheel stopped in the middle of nowhere, and I’m very afraid of heights.
He was like, “No, no, don’t be scared, this is normal.” And then he showed me the view, and I was in pure shock, because I had never seen something so beautiful before.

And that’s when he gave me Elfie, my huge elephant doll..

So this is Elfie, the softest, most beautiful stuffed Elephant I have ever seen.
After the most romantic thing that had ever happened to me (a.k.a. the Ferris Wheel thing), we were walking around while I was holding my beautiful Elfie.

That’s when I noticed the “Elfie” effect. Every girl, between ages 2 – 25 wanted her. And I knew why. I knew that they knew somebody special had given her to me, they noticed how big the elephant was, and how big the smile was on my face.

Girls aged 2 – 9: Want their Daddy to buy them an Elfie or win it for them at a Fair, because that’s what Daddys do: they win stuff for their little princesses.
Girls aged 10 – 14: Want their crush to win an Elfie for them at a Fair, because you know, that’s the typical awesome date. Especially since The Notebook, seeing how that’s where Noah and Allie first met – at a Fair.
Girls aged 15 – 18: Want their boyfriends to take them on top of a Ferris Wheel, kiss them, then win an Elfie for them, because it makes the date so perfectly romantic.
Girls aged 19 – 25: Want their boyfriends to take them on top of a Ferris Wheel, kiss them, give an Elfie to them (still at the top) and tell them how beautiful they look against the city’s nightlight background because that’s what they’ve always wanted all along. Having an Elfie makes you realize that that’s something you’ve always wanted no matter how grown up you’ve become.

So, I knew exactly what was going through their heads. And they knew that I knew, and I felt proud. I was proud of Elfie, I was proud of my boyfriend, and I was proud of the fact that I got to do something that most girls wish for on their bucket list:

Get kissed on top of a Ferris Wheel.

Say something!

