Happy Mother’s Day!

As we all know, today is Mother’s Day (at least in America). I personally never know when Mother’s Day is until people post pictures of their moms on Facebook or when my dad tells me. This is because I’ve travelled so much, and in every country that I’ve been to, Mother’s Day has been on March 21st, March 26th, May 12th and May 26th. Same thing goes for Father’s Day.

Usually, I end up wishing my mother an American Happy Mother’s Day on May 12th. But first of all, I just have to say that my mother is the best in the world, and I love her so so so so so so so much.

There is so much nonsense that she has had to put up with for about 20 years, and sometimes I wonder how she did it. I wonder how she did it with all four children, especially with me.

A lot of people say I take after my mother physically as well as in character. I didn’t really see the resemblance when I was younger, but once I got into highschool, I realized just how similar we are.

My mother doesn’t fit into anyone’s mold. She is smart, sophisticated and beautiful. She has never blended in with Americans, West Indians, French, Africans or Emiratis because she is British. She has never blended in with the snobby parents at our private international school because my mother put education first, not reputation.
Whenever a teacher would dare say that one of her children wasn’t capable of something, my mother would be the first to prove them wrong by encouraging us to be the best that we can be.

What I love about my mother is that my dreams are hers and she’s always pushed me forward.

My mother taught me how to read, how to write, how to speak French (with the help of my dad), how to do the dishes, how to be a friend, how to be a lady, how to cook, how to walk in faith, how to use my brain, how to gain maturity, how to be wise, how to take care of my hair, how to sew, how to be a good hostess, how to mop the floor, how to write an English essay.

Now that I’m an adult , I keep noticing how similar I am to my mother. How much I look like her physically, when I look in the mirror.
When I “grow up”, I want to be just like my mother. I want to be an English teacher just like she was. I want to be the loving, strong, encouraging, confident, trustworthy mother that she is to me.

My mother is my closest friend, and that’s why, as my younger sister would say, “I’m like MOMMY!

223292_1966750765104_1424436_n

Happy Mother’s Day!

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Awwwwwwww! Thank you for those beautiful words, sweetheart! I feel privileged to have played an important part in forming your character and values, especially as I see you maturing into a strong, beautiful and godly young woman! Mom

Say something!

