Home is where the Heart is

As I have promised a few days ago, I’m going to talk about one of the most important things I had to do in the past month.

Most college students that live on their own can probably agree with me on this one: no matter how small, awkward, uncomfortable your first studio/dorm room/apartment was, you’ll never forget it. This is because most of the time, it’s the first place you move into when you graduate and leave your family home. It’s your first adult apartment.

However, in the past few months, there have been weird things going on in the student residence where I was staying. People were being followed into their apartments and attacked, people were constantly being robbed, graffiti was everywhere on the walls, people were breakings things, and putting their garbage everywhere. And the sad thing is, this same residence is one of the expensive student ones and is supposed to be where all the higher middle class students live (not that I’m one of them). There should have been more security, but the people in charge of the residence honestly didn’t care.

Finally, one of my closest friends and neighbors got robbed. Within the next few hours, I moved out and moved in with a friend of mine until I could find a better apartment.

Now, honestly, being 10 days away from spending the summer in Dubai, I literally had 10 days to move out all my things, clean out the apartment, find storage space, change my address, tell every service and company I’m involved with that I changed address, and find a new apartment.

All in all, by some miracle I found a new apartment, in a safer environment, that I’ll move into when I get back.

Now, here I am in Dubai, 2 weeks later, back in my family’s home that I left a year ago when I graduated. It was a bit of a weird feeling when I got to the airport, as if I was a tourist, like I didn’t belong here anymore. But at the same time, I realize that I have to get used to Dubai again, and all its glory.

I learned that once you made your home somewhere, your heart moves on with you.

7944732628_60bae413b3_z_large

2 thoughts on “Home is where the Heart is

  1. Your heart may move on, but there is also another HOME that never changes – the one where Mom’s heart is, the one where Mom is always there with opened arms to welcome her babies home, grown or otherwise!

Say something!

