Bob Marley, shopping and a Sarah Dessen novel

There there, I know that vacation is over and it’s sad. But are you still keeping up with the Kardashians your New Year’s resolutions ? I have, with my first two :

#1. Make more time for myself

#2. Keep the negativity out of my life

Now how have I been able to do both of those things at once ?

Well, I’ve been reading Sarah Dessen’s book “The Moon and More”. I’ve always had a soft spot for mushy teen books (even though I’m not a teenager anymore) and really Sarah Dessen tops them all. Here’s a summary from her website:

“Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough. […]
Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. […] Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby? Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?”

Oh man if that doesn’t wake up the teenage drama queen inside of you, I don’t know what will.

And then there’s Bob Marley. Who doesn’t love this guy? After listening to it for forever, I finally decided to cover my favorite Marley song: ‘Redemption Song’. Let me know what you think !

Finally, while Sarah Dessen and Bob Marley have done a great job helping me keep the negativity out of my life, I must say that I almost lost it when I went shopping this week. Let me just say this nicely: French sales should really take a hint from the British ! In London, I went sales shopping and came back with a full chic wardrobe, all bought with 40% to 80% off. And here I had my hopes up so high until I realized that the highest sales I’ve seen in Lyon were about 30%… off only ugly-crap-you-wouldn’t-dress-your-hamster-in. HONESTLY.

AND on top of that, they don’t even have River Island here. WHAT IS UP WITH THAT ?

But it’s okay, no more negativity in 2014. After a week of “shopping”, I bought a little black dress from Zara. Life is good.

image

Say something!

