How to Fall Asleep

For the past few months I haven’t been able to sleep properly because I’ve been sleeping on a really hard mattress. Finally, a few days ago, I got a new bed from IKEA and it is just too beautiful, too amazing, too lazy-making to take a picture of.  I slept wonderfully on a ton of white fluffy pillows and blankets.

But I realized that I started sleeping better about a week ago – when I figured out how to fall asleep peacefully.

Usually when we go to bed, that’s when we decide to think about every stressful, scary and annoying thing we can imagine. Like remembering a Paranormal Activity scene or counting how many hours you have to sleep before you have to wake up the next day. Or that anything can happen at any time of any day and your life can drastically change forever.

A few months ago, I read an article about sleeping (because yes, I do that) and one of the biggest things that makes it hard for us to fall asleep is worrying about things you can’t fix right away. I don’t know about you, but that sounds like something I used to do every night.

And that’s when I realized, as simple as it sounds, that when I fall asleep happy, I sleep well. So before I went to bed one night, I thought about what exactly makes me happy. Genuinely, I thought, “Making my loved ones smile.” And so I thought of every single person that I loved in this world: my parents, my grandparents, my brothers and sisters, my extended family, my boyfriend and my best friends. Then I imagined each of them smiling or laughing.

It made me warm inside and made me realize how many people I love and how many people love me. Just that thought alone made me happy and I fell asleep instantly.

When something stressful is happening in a movie, it’s not only cliché when a character says, “Think happy thoughts!” It’s also true: when you’re happy, you’re relaxed. And when you’re relaxed, you can sleep.

large

One thought on “How to Fall Asleep

Say something!

