Quick and Easy Steps to Getting a Clear Face

Ever since 10th grade when my friend Leila introduced me to the world of face masks and organic scrubs, I try to take great care of my face. I’ve been blessed with naturally clear skin but from time to time I do get blemishes, circles under my eyes and the occasional red bump on my nose (ugh!). Fortunately, over the years I’ve tried a variety of products (from my mother, Dubai, America, Niger, Burkina Faso and France) that helped me keep a clear, refreshed face most of the time. So today I’m going to share my “face routine” with you as well as the products that I use, in case you need inspiration :)

Every morning (3 minutes):
I wet a cotton pad and wipe the nonsense out of my eyes. Keeping my face wet, I wash my face with regular Dove soap and rinse it with cold water (to wake me up).
image
Still keeping my face wet, I wash my face with Yves Rocher’s Hydra vegetal face wash. This is my favorite face wash of all time because it refreshes my face immediately and makes it glow.
image
I then rinse it off with cold water and pat-dry my face with a soft, clean towel. Finally, I moisturize my face with Nivea’s Soft Face cream.
image

Every night (4 minutes):
I take off my make up with make up remover cream (I find that lotion is better than clear liquid remover because it keeps my face moisturized). I wash off my face with Lush’s Let the Good Times Roll popcorn-cinnamon organic soap. I absolutely LOVE anything made by Lush, because their products are 100% organic and hand-made. On top of that, you can find loads of other delicious flavors in their stores.
wpid-dsc_0154-003.jpg
After rinsing off the soap with luke-warm water (not too cold unless I need to be awake, not too hot for obvious reasons), I pat-dry my face with a soft, clean towel. I then apply Nivea’s Refreshing Toner with a cotton pad to remove remaining make up.
wpid-nivea-refreshing_toner-800x800.png
Finally, I moisturize my face with Nivea’s nightcare natural fairness cream. Some of you may misunderstand the word “fairness” just like I used to. However, it doesn’t whiten your face, it removes blemishes and keeps your skin moisturized at night.
NF_NightCare_Closed_Jar_EA_Ref
Once a week (5 minutes):
After washing my face in the morning (see above), I pat-dry my face with a soft, clean towel and then I exfoliate my face with Neutrogena’s Grapefruit Face wash.  It says to use the wash daily, but I’ve been told by experts that you should never exfoliate your skin more than three times a week or it will be irritated. Neutrogena’s Grapefruit is soft and it makes your skin all glowy. Plus, it smells like happiness and rainbows.
wpid-pink-grapefruit-scrub-larg-copy.png.png
After exfoliating my skin, I like to remove blackheads by rinsing my face with cold water and then applying Clean & Clear’s Blackhead Eraser Scrub. I make sure to rub the cream on my nose (especially on the sides), my forehead, my chin and the skin around my lips because that’s where they usually appear.
wpid-12651763_130424210000.jpg
Finally,  I pat-dry my face with a soft, clean towel (I insist!) and moisturize my face with Nivea’s Soft Face cream.

Once every two weeks (9 minutes):
After washing my face (see above), whether it’s morning or night time, every other weekend I cleanse my pores with Clean & Clear’s Deep Action Cleanser cream. I wait for it to dry for about 5 minutes and then rinse it off with luke warm water.
11537198
Finally, (say it with me) I pat-dry my face with a soft, clean towel and moisturize with Nivea’s Soft Face cream (or Nightcare fairness cream if you’re going to bed).
 I insist on using a clean towel because most people dry their face with the same towels they use for showers. That’s definitely not a good idea because your face is a sensitive area. Though you’re supposedly clean after a shower, I doubt you’d want feet on your face.

large

This may sound like a long and complicated process but this routine is very easy, affordable and quick to do. You can find all of these products online and/or in a supermarket. I hope you found my tips useful and let me know what your favorite face washes are in the comments section below !

Images from Google Images and Weheartit.com. 

2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Steps to Getting a Clear Face

Say something!

