Vacation from Life

Jealousy [jeluh-see] jealous resentment against a rival, a person enjoying success or advantage, etc., or against another’s success or advantage itself. Source: Dictionary Reference.com

Have you ever had a reason to be jealous of someone ? Never ? Well here’s a reason: I’m on SUMMER vacation until September. I have 5 months of vacation ahead of me because I finished all of my exams in April. If you sincerely feel jealous, click here.

largel

You may be thinking that I’ll be bored, annoyed, lazy, not able to read by the end of the holidays. But I’ve decided to make the most of this well-deserved vacation and stay busy. Not only do I have a summer job as an English instructor for cute little French children, but I’ve also made a list of…

Things I Need to do this Summer

1. Learn how to sew/mend. This is shameful because you would think that with the crafty talent that runs in my family I would know how to mend my blouse. I don’t know how to do that, because I’ve never been patient enough to try. My blouse will be mended by September.

2. Learn how to finger pick on the guitar. I’ve been playing guitar for four years and I still don’t know how to finger pick. I’ve tried, I’ve gotten impatient and I’ve failed. I will learn how to play a Beatles’ song before September.

3. Learn how to cook beef until it’s tender. IT’S SO HARD YOU GUYS. I don’t know how anyone can manage to have tender pieces of beef on their plate even after hours of cooking. It just doesn’t work.

4. Go to a foreign country/city I’ve never been to before. I’ve got my eye on Venice, Rome, Barcelona, Liverpool (because the Beatles) and Athens.

5. Charity work. Because I promise myself I’ll do it when I have the time, but I never get around to it. The weird thing is that it’s actually pretty hard to find charity work in Lyon. It turns out organizations don’t really need volunteers and hospitals don’t want random people visiting children’s wards.

6. Read five English classics. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett, Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Montgomery, Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Caroll.

7. Finish my novel. Can’t say anything about it for the moment but I just know that I have got to do something about my writer’s block. A novel cannot consist of 5 pages of dialogue.

8. Sort out my iTunes. I’m sure I’m not the only one guilty of still having music from back when I was in middle school. I’m tired of skipping through 167 songs before I get to the one I like. The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus, Barlow Girl and ZOEgirl need to go.

9. Repair my hair. Because it’s damaged to the point that even people with damaged hair are telling me it’s damaged.

10. Watch all the Olsen Twins’ movies. I have watched many but not enough. Mary-Kate & Ashley are my childhood friends.

11. Write new songs and have another concert. I haven’t written a new song in 9 months. I have got to work on that writer’s block.

So you see, I’ll be pretty busy with my life for the next five months. Vacation is a time of relaxation and partying. It’s also the time to evaluate your life and achieve your goals. It’s the time to do all those things you’ve postponed for “tomorrow”.

large

3 thoughts on “Vacation from Life

Say something!

