4 thoughts on “Looking Up

  1. I think 1 2 5 6 7 and 9 are going a bit overboard, although I’ve never had problems regarding almost any of this anyways, it seems more conditional if anything for them.
    For 1, I would say taking pictures of your food all the time is really annoying, but if it’s really decorative I could understand. If it’s something you’ve actually _made_ yourself though, go ahead and take a picture, there are people who did that before social media sites and phone cameras, you have all the reason to take a picture of your own creation.

    2 5 and 6 all kinda group in together, there’s nothing wrong with playing a game on your phone when you’re bored and simply waiting. If this were some years ago, it’d be the same thing with portable game systems like Game Boys, and if you want to bring it further back, it’d be the same with even solving puzzle books. The only thing I’d add to that is to be more aware of your surroundings at least and take a look up every once in a while at least. This also of course depends on what room you’re in and who you’re with.

    As for 9, I don’t think that’s necessary at all. I keep my real life and works on the internet separate, but even assuming I didn’t, I’m one of those people who _don’t_ add a thousand random people and have far less than 50 friends only for communication purposes, with anything I post going by un-noticed anyways. There wouldn’t be any advantages there for advertising and there are much better ways to go about advertising than social media.
    There won’t always be a time in your life that you’ll need social media because it heavily depends on who you are and what you do, along with the people you’re actually friends with.
    On the other hand, you will much more likely generally need ways to communicate on the internet, which I have Skype for and use often, but that isn’t the same as an actual website such as Facebook.

    • I understand your point of view, thank you so much for sharing! I agree with you now about number 1 because I use instagram a lot more than I used to. In fact, I take pride in taking decorative pictures of my food creations because I like to inspire other people. I meant people taking pictures of basic stuff like a bag of chips and hashtagging #snack.
      However, I think that nowadays number 9 is actually important, especially if you have a business. Social media is a really useful way to promote your products and get more clients; I’m sure that in the very near future 99% businesses will have some type of presence in social media.

Say something!

