Meditation and Uncertainty

I have a handful of friends, a few best friends and a couple of favorite people who’ve inspired me.

large1

Have you ever met a person who makes it so easy to open yourself up to because of his/her honest personality? Just to give you an idea, one of my favorites (also one of the smartest people I know) is one of my closest friends, someone who’s known me for a few years but knows me by heart. He’s a gifted musician, who literally knows everything about everything and has an honest heart.

I’m a people person, so I enjoy meeting people who inspire me and feed my soul spiritually. And last week, I came across one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met.

When you’re a busy and organized person like myself, you tend to hurry your life up. You’re constantly running, planning, doing, writing down, talking until you’re used up at the end of the day. I’ve never really taken the time on my own to meditate and listen to my soul and mind. And spontaneity is another thing we, organized beings, have no time for. Because I don’t like uncertainty, I’m not so comfortable with being spontaneous.

But this person inspired me to meditate and breathe. To look at the beauty of nature and reflect on my life. To take a deep breath and not worry about the unknown. His way of looking at life was so peaceful, accepting that we are not in control of our destiny. I truly admire someone who takes the time to let go and be free, even just for a while. We talked about the uncertainty of the future and how spontaneity is important in a monotone life. How to truly appreciate your family and close friends because they’re the strong foundation of your mind, body and soul.

Yesterday, I sat at the beach with some friends just before dawn. As we listened to music (Kings of Convenience), each of us took our time to contemplate God’s creation and sit in awe. It was so beautiful, we lost track of time.

And that’s how life should be. A continuous contemplation of beauty, captivated in the moment so that you forget everything before and everything after. Breathing in, breathing out, meditation set to music.

You may not understand what I’m talking about or where I’m going with this, and that’s okay.

But next time you find yourself alone, go to your most favorite place in the world, or somewhere you’ve never been. Listen to nature, listen to music and meditate. And I promise the strength, peace and happiness you will find, will be worth it all.

large

2 thoughts on “Meditation and Uncertainty

Say something!

