M’bifé

Good morning creatures of the world. I was up all night working on something that I hadn’t done in a long time and I would like to share it with you.

Before I do, I’d like to tell you a little bit about the song and the original artists.

amadou-mariam

“M’bifé” is a beautiful love song written by the talented Malian couple Amadou and Mariam. Oh, and they’re both blind, which makes this song even more heart-warming.

M’bifé in Bambara (one of the languages spoken in Mali, West Africa) means I love you. The lyrics are very simple, sung over the balafon instrument and guitar.

So yesterday, I felt inspired. After listening to Valerie June’s last album Pushin’ Against A Stone and then Amadou & Mariam’s Dimanche à Bamako, I decided to cover “M’bifé” and mix the two styles.

I hope you guys like this song as much as I do. And when you’re done, feel free to visit my music page on Facebook here for more covers and originals :)

6 thoughts on “M’bifé

Say something!

