Meet Roshan L-J, the next Spielberg

Good morning creatures of the world ! I’ve decided to start a new category on Breakfast with the Beatles called L-J’s Got Talent. Why? For the simple reason that there is so much talent in my family, and I’m so proud to be associated with such a creative group of folks. I  have four brothers and sisters: most of my family are artists. I’m also the only one that can’t draw no matter how hard I try. I draw stick figures, they draw masterpieces. I can barely manage to color inside the lines, they watercolor canvases with their eyes closed. But I can sing, and they can’t, so it’s a win-win situation.

Meet Roshan L-J

467693_10150710939987614_383098216_o
© All Rights Reserved – 2014

Age: 23 years old

Occupation: Student, majoring in Film at Columbia College Chicago

Why we like him: Because he’s a stud. Oh, also, he’s a really talented movie director.

Why he does what he does: In Roshan’s words, he said, “I just want to tell a story through my own eyes.” If you ask me, that is a beautiful and humble answer for someone who’s going to be filming my autobiographical movie someday.

Here’s a few things about Roshan that only I would know, because I’m his sister:

-We met when he was two years old.

-He’s left-handed so it’s awkward.

-He’s a Chicago Bulls fan.

-He has REALLY good taste in music.

-For some odd reason, he and my other brother call me ‘Baldy’ all the time. Nobody knows why, I was never bald.

-Roshan and my other brother have 52 nicknames for me, including Bambi, Simba, Poonam, Rafiki, Baldy, Chicken and Professor X (from X-Men, because he’s bald).

-As teenagers, I had to live with the fact that all my friends had a crush on Roshan. This hasn’t changed.

-When we would play the Sims, Roshan was the only one who knew how to use cheats. It wasn’t just a coincidence that his families were filthy rich.

-Roshan’s favorite pie is pumpkin pie.

-He has a thing for languages. He speaks English and French fluently, can understand a lot of German and can have mini conversations in Spanish and Arabic. We started Spanish lessons at the same time. And no hablo español for the vida of me.

Most importantly, here’s a short movie, filmed and directed by Roshan L-J, called La Rêveuse, which won the Audience Choice Award for Best Narrative Short Film at the Take 1 Festival.

To see more of his work, follow Roshan L-J on Vimeo or subscribe to his Youtube channel.

1469765_10151504752742614_983535212_n
© All Rights Reserved – 2014

6 thoughts on “Meet Roshan L-J, the next Spielberg

  1. Very gracious of you to recognize your siblings and their God-given talents. Yes, all of you are truly talented and we are proud of all of you! Way to go L-J children!

Say something!

