I choose to be Happy

“The best people in life are free.” Taylor Swift, New Romantics (2014)

large

If someone had told me a few months ago that I’d start 2015 as a single woman, I wouldn’t have believed them.
If someone had told me a few months ago that I’d start 2015 as a single and happy woman, I wouldn’t have believed them either.

The truth is, it’s nobody’s concern why or how it ended, because the relationship didn’t define who I am today.

Over the past month, I figured out that until now, I wasn’t living for myself, but for others. Who am I living for? I asked myself daily, without bothering to answer the question. Who am I trying to be?

In this short, precious life we have, why should we live to please others? I’ve come to realize that the most important person’s happiness should be your own. It doesn’t mean you’re selfish, it just means you’re choosing to be happy.

You’re choosing to be free.

I read an article in Elite Daily magazine the other day, and the author wrote something pretty incredible: “The art of living life for ourselves and at our own pace is the one thing we know to be ours. When we give that up through fear, or pressure of others, who are we living for?”

I usually write New Years resolutions every January 1st, hoping that this new year I’d accomplish them all. This year, the only New Years resolution that I have is to be free.

Free to do whatever I please, when I please, where I please. Free enough to know that my happiness doesn’t depend on others. Free enough to choose to do what makes me happy. And I am happy because I am grateful for all the beautiful things and beautiful people that I used to take for granted.

So here’s to a new chapter in life, with 340 days left to make it count, until the next.

Happy New Year 2015 :)

large1

Say something!

