What I Wore This Week: University

Hello hello !

Today I’ll be starting a new series of blog posts, completely dedicated to lovers of fashion: What I Wore This Week.

I’ve never done this type of thing before, but I’ve been inspired by posts I’ve seen on Pinterest, Instagram and fashion blogs like WhoWhatWear and Style by Kieren. WIWTW is basically what it sounds like: every week, I’ll be posting an outfit I wore during the week for an occasion/event/no reason as well as how I styled them.

This week’s featured outfit is an international mix of vintage, African print and sportswear.

image

(Yes, the mirror is broken.)

Event/Occasion: University
Lipstick: Sephora R02 Courtisane (dark red) mixed with Sephora R21 Ingenuous (nude) lipstick.

I bought this vintage second-hand Levi’s jean shirt in great quality for only 20 euros. I purposely bought it in men’s size L (I normally wear a size S) so that it would float around enough to tie at the waist. This outfit would probably still look good with the shirt untied but because I have a short torso and long legs, the tie at my belly button balances everything out.

I’m not a huge fan of denim-on-denim unless it’s really well coordinated so I decided to wear black leggings from Select (a British store I can’t find anywhere else unfortunately) and a plain black tank top from H&M. My entire outfit was styled with the entire Fresh Prince of Bel-Air cast in mind, but I decided to modernize it with a pair of plain black wedged sneakers bought in an unknown store somewhere.

Finally, my favorite part of this entire outfit, is the African wax print bag that I’m wearing. This bag was actually hand-sewn by my incredibly talented mother, made with fabric bought in Burkina Faso (West Africa) and plain black fabric. The blue and grey patterns matched my jean shirt perfectly and added more life to what would have been a casual 90’s outfit. African wax print bags are hard to find online, but you can always choose fabric in an African fabric shop and head to a (talented) tailor with a tote bag design!

image

To get my look, check these out:

Jean shirt: $128.00 at Levi’s
Tank top: $5.95 at H&M
Leggings: $16.69 or £10.99 at Select
Sneakers: $100.00 at Jildor Shoes
Bag: $60.76 or £40.00 at Ask Her Friends

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by checking the Fashion section on my blog weekly :)

4 thoughts on “What I Wore This Week: University

Say something!

