What I Wore This Week: Lunch Date

Good morning fellow fashion lovers, and welcome to another WIWTW blog post.

This week’s outfit is a mix of bordeaux and flannel, two of my most favorite trends of the season. Y’all can say whatever you like but flannel is my bae at the moment. 90’s fashion has always inspired me (most likely because of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air) so you can only imagine my joy when Queen Bey stepped out looking flawless in flannel.

This winter, I’ve seen a lot of bordeaux on runways and celebs because on its own, it can be a sophisticated classic look. And when you mix bordeaux and flannel, the unexpected happens:

Event/Occasion: Lunch Date
Lipstick: 
Lasting Finish Matte #112 by Kate Moss

2015-02-06 10.32.40

I bought this plain bordeaux A-line dress on Zalando, a German company that sells an infinite amount of brands for affordable prices. This particular dress had caught my eye because of its high neckline and 60’s style. Alone, the dress can seem a bit drab so at the last minute, I threw on a blue/bordeaux flannel shirt (casually borrowed from a friend) to add some color to the ensemble. The flannel also made the look seem more casual, because I was going on a lunch date (thus, day time).

My long legs didn’t require me to wear heels (Thank God, I love heels but my feet misbehave whenever I consider wearing them. Yes, I’m that type of girl, the one who wears sneakers to the club). Instead, I slipped on a discreet but romantic pair of black leather booties by André. By romantic, I mean that I felt like an adult wearing leather boots.

Finally, the bag. I literally grabbed the first black bag I had and ran out the door because I’m always late to everything. This happened to be a black quilted faux snakeskin bag from New Look which matched my leather boots and completed my look.

All in all, I was still late to my lunch date (probably because I was taking the featured pictures) but pretty proud of myself for styling an outfit in less than 7 minutes.

2015-02-06 10.34.07

To get my look, check these out:

Dress: $59.79 at Asos
Flannel shirt: $35.00 at Brandy Melville
Booties: $119.00 at Zara
Bag: $33.93 or 29.99 at New Look

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by checking the Fashion section on my blog weekly :)

Say something!

