WIWTW: Wax Print featuring Safiya L-J

Hey guys! Welcome to another What I Wore This Week post, where I feature an outfit I wore during the week, the occasion and how I styled it.

This weekend, I surprised my sister Safiya in Tampa, Florida so I had to wait a bit longer for this week’s WIWTW post. I was really excited for this, because my sister looks like she could be my twin and we have the same taste in fashion (also cause I love her most abundantly).

So this week’s outfits of the day feature my lovely sister Safiya who loves wax print clothing (African prints) just as much as I do.

2015-03-15 09.47.03

Event/Occasion: Weekend Getaway in Tampa, Florida
Lipstick: Sephora R02 Courtisane in dark red (both)

My outfit:

It was 28°C (83°F) yesterday so I made sure to pack my favorite summer pieces. I opted for a blue/yellow wax print crop top that I bought at Forever 21. I didn’t want to show too much skin, so I highlighted my legs with a pair of light blue high-waisted jeans from Hollister. I usually hate wearing flip-flops, but it’s Florida and we were going to jump in the pool at any minute, so I decided to wear white beaded sandals from Aldo.

Safiya’s outfit:

If I had to desribe Safiya’s wardrobe in three words: long-board, comfy, stylish. We were both in the mood to represent West Africa, so fortunately my sister had this really cool t-shirt with a wax print pocket to match her wax print scarf. She had bought the plain grey t-shirt at H&M but my talented mom added a pocket with some Burkinabe fabric and made a headscarf out of the same fabric. Because Safiya likes to be comfortable, she opted for black leggings from Zara and black leather low-top Converse sneakers.

Special thanks to Olivia O’Reilly for taking these beautiful pictures of us!

To get my look, check out:

Wax print crop top: $16.50 at Asos
High-rise jeans: $25.00 at Hollister
Flip-flops: $45.00 at Asos

To get Safiya’s look, check out:

Wax print pocketed t-shirt: $32.00 at Serengetee (Their proceeds go to charity!)
Leggings: $27.94 or €25.95 at Zara
Converse: $65.00 at Converse

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by checking the Fashion section on my blog weekly :)

One thought on “WIWTW: Wax Print featuring Safiya L-J

Say something!

