WIWTW: AFROPUNK Festival with Sidney

Hey guys! Welcome to another What I Wore This Week post, where I feature an outfit I wore during the week, the occasion and how I styled it.

I have some exciting news to share with you guys and if I haven’t written a post in a while, it’s because of this… Last week, Sidney and I went to Paris to celebrate my cousin Elisa’s 18th birthday in a classy restaurant. The following day, we decided to head over to AFROPUNK‘s BBQ at a beautiful location Les Petites Gouttes. We took a bunch of incredible street-style pictures (that we posted on Garde Robe yesterday) so make sure you check them out!

And THEN… we met the AFROPUNK VIP a.k.a the official photographer, social media manager and film editor who invited us to the AFROPUNK festival at Le Trianon last weekend! Sidney and I decided to come back of course,  and we did, with STYLE.

DSC_0004 (2)

Event: AFROPUNK PARIS Fancy Dress Ball

Sidney and I both wanted to wear the most colorful and happiest pieces we could find. This event was so exciting for us, we were grinning at each other the whole ride there. Sometimes I’d catch him smiling, and I thought to myself, “This is going to be incredible.” And it really was.

I went for a vibrant colorful look by opting for a white minimal triangular top and mustard yellow accents to match my wax print skirt. I found this simple crop top at Zara as well as the beautiful heels and handbag.

 

DSC_0031

I felt like Cinderella, because as soon as I found out I was going to the AFROPUNK Festival, I called up my mom and asked her what to wear. About a minute later, I called one of my favorite designers in Lyon: Wilfried Essomba, creator of BLEDARDISEWilfried is very talented and Garde Robe had the honor to attend a couple of his events where he showcased his designs. Many of his pieces hand-sewn and are made of traditional West African fabrics such as wax print (pagne) and dashiki. Other BLEDARDISE tshirts feature humorous West African sayings such as, “C’est la Mer Noire“. So for the festival, I had the honor to wear one of Bledardise‘s skirts from their new collection: “Bledardise is the new Cool”!

DSC_0080

While I was getting ready, my sweet cousin Mai Lo styled my hair with aloe vera (the results were amazing: my hair stayed moisturized and curly all night). I wore an updo so I chose these colorful dream catcher earrings from Zara to complete my look.

DSC_0087 (2)

Sidney is A$ap Rocky by day and the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air by night. His style for the event was colorful, dandy and very AFROPUNK.

DSC_0015

Sidney opted for a multicolored vintage shirt that he got at the Vintage Fashion Market a few weeks ago. His accessories included round blue mirrored sunglasses and a black hat from Asos.

DSC_0001 (2)

DSC_0038

After going ham on the colors with this shirt, Sidney decided to wear a minimalist pair of black cropped trousers with faux leather detail from Zara. And then he accentuated the aqua green in this outfit by wearing his awesome Reebok Insta Pump Fury sneakers.

DSC_0055

13316906_10153631018351623_4245365719689407998_o (2)

Want my look? Check these out!

Top: $15.90 at Zara 
Skirt: €45.00 or $51.08 at Bledardise
Heels: $59.90 at Zara
Bag: $39.90 at Zara
Earrings: $19.90 at Zara
Lipstick: “NYX Throttle” – $7.00 at NYX

Want Sidney’s look? Check these out!

Shirt: €56.03 or $63.61 at Asos Marketplace
Pants: $79.90 at Zara
Sneakers: $83.00 at Sneaker Studio 
Sunglasses: $33.00 at Asos
Hat: $57.00 at Asos

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by checking the Fashion section on my blog weekly :) Subscribe to Breakfast with the Beatles by clicking ‘Follow me by Email’ on the top right-hand corner of this page! ALSO, make sure you check out our blog  Garde Robe by Sidney and me, entirely dedicated to street-style.

 

 

Say something!

