WIWTW: Distressed Jeans + Autumn Kimono

Hey guys! Welcome to another What I Wore This Week post, where I feature an outfit I wore during the week, the occasion and how I styled it.

It’s not even Autumn yet and it’s already cold again. I wished so hard for it to stay sunny indefinitely, but like every year, I was disappointed. It suddenly went from being too hot to stay outside to being too cold to be out of my bed.

dsc_0003

Event: Late lunch & Shopping

I’ve always found it tricky to dress up distressed jeans during summer time, so I had been holding out on wearing these ripped jeans from Stradivarius until it got cooler. Now, before I get into how I styled them, here’s why ripped jeans are a thing now:

-They’re so EDGY. If distressed jeans were a person, they’d be that one moody sarcastic kid you saw around in high school. They’re fashion’s way of saying: so what if I’m ripped, I’m still a pair of pants, and I’m awesome AF.

-They can be SEXY. They really can, if the rips are in the right places (above the knees, for example), your distressed jeans will make heads turn.

-They can DRESS DOWN your look. If you’re wearing a chic shirt with a pair of heels, but you’re heading to class or an evening out with the girls, ripped jeans are the perfect fit.

For this outfit, I chose to wear a pair of blush-pink espadrille flats so my shoes wouldn’t take away the attention from the other vibrant colors.

dsc_0043

Then I chose this grey turtleneck from H&M and paired it with my new favorite drape-cape-thingy-majiggy (what is this even called, it’s not a poncho or a cardigan?) that I got from H&M as well. I’m going to call it a cape. I LOVE capes like this because they can be worn on hot days (with a tank top and shorts) or chilly days (with long sleeves and pants). I especially love the Autumn colors, they’re so vibrant and perfect for this season. I’ll be wearing this cape with black, white, brown, grey, khaki and mustard colored clothes.

dsc_0030

And y’all already know about my cute black pouch from Zara, it’s half faux leather and half faux suede.

dsc_0026

dsc_0033

Want my look? Check these out!

Mock turtleneck: $29.99 at H&M
Jeans: $57.00 at Asos
Cape: $34.99 at H&M
Shoes: $33.00 at Asos
Pouch: $59.90 at Zara
Lipstick: $17.00 at MAC Cosmetics

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by checking the Fashion section on my blog weekly :) Subscribe to Breakfast with the Beatles by clicking ‘Follow me by Email’ on the top right-hand corner of this page! ALSO, make sure you check out our blog  Garde Robe by Sidney and me, entirely dedicated to street-style.

4 thoughts on “WIWTW: Distressed Jeans + Autumn Kimono

Say something!

