dsc_0080

WIWTW: Styling Timberlands in Chicago

Hey guys! Welcome to another What I Wore This Week post, where I feature an outfit I wore during the week, the occasion and how I styled it.

Over Christmas break, my sister Safiya and I got to spend some time with one of our brothers Roshan, in Chicago. I had never been there before so I was really excited to discover such a huge city. I loved it so much and I would be ecstatic to go again. Apart from meeting some of the most down-to-earth and interesting people I’ve ever met, I visited Cloud Gate by Anish Kapoor (my artist sister insists that I call it as such, but most people know it by its nickname ‘The Bean’). Downtown Chicago is beautiful and the skyline is breathtaking. As an overseas American who hasn’t visited much of the USA, I felt like a tourist, taking in every mesmerizing scene in front of me.

dsc_0103

 

We met some pretty cool Uber drivers but we also did a lot of walking. And you know what’s made for walking? ‘These boots’. (See what I did there?)

chicago-wiwtw03

Event: Sight-seeing in Chicago

 

Raise your hand if you’ve ever wanted to buy Timberlands but saw way too many people wearing them. *raises hand* I’m a part of this group, but then I changed my mind: they’re comfortable, they give an urban edge to everything, and they really were made for walking. I got them in just the right color for Christmas: the original yellowish ones, because they really just go with everything. I have enough black shoes in my closet, so I wanted something different from my own wardrobe.

dsc_0035

I wore my light blue mom jeans from Stradivarius (I got them on sale for €10.00 when I was in Dubai this summer!) and my all-time-favorite sweater by Puma. This is not just any Puma sweater. This is a chunky, 90’s cut, sweater from Rihanna’s collaboration with Puma “Fenty x PUMA by Rihanna”, that I got in a beautiful shop in Milan called Minus More Much. It’s one of my most favorite things to wear because it’s so unique. I personally haven’t seen anybody else with it though I’m sure there are many other Rihanna fans walking around with it somewhere. Idc, this is my favorite sweater in the world. It’s comfortable and the gold shiny “9” at the front gives my outfit an athletic feel.

dsc_0080

chicago-wiwtw15

Because it was pretty cold in Chicago, I got to wear my puffy padded jacket from H&M. You can’t really see how well-shaped it is here, but gives my entire look some volume.

chicago-wiwtw41

dsc_0086

You already know my black faux leather pouch from Zara, but here are my gorgeous Timbs.

chicago-wiwtw90

In the midst of this photoshoot (taken by Safiya), two guys tried to ask my sister to prom. When she proceeded to tell them that she doesn’t live in Chicago, one of them even offered to buy her a plane ticket and fly her out for prom. He was so serious that he decided he should take our picture, and I promised to share his photography skills on my blog so here you go, sir:

dsc_0007
Credit: Unknown guy who asked my sister to prom in Chicago. You know who you are.

Want my look? Check these out!

Coat: $32.01 or €29.99 at H&M
Sweater: $105.50 at Asos (I can’t find the exact same sweater unfortunately)
Jeans: $49.00 at Asos
Timberland boots: $170.00 at Timberland
Pouch: $29.99 at Zara
Lipstick: £5.99 or $7.36 at New Look

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by subscribing to Breakfast with the Beatles. Click on the ‘Follow me by Email’ button on the top right-hand corner of this page! ALSO, make sure you check out Garde Robe an international street-style blog by Sidney and me.

Say something!

