WIWTW: Styling a vintage trench coat with a statement purse

Hey guys! Welcome to another What I Wore This Week post, where I feature an outfit I wore during the week, the occasion and how I styled it.

Last week, I went thrift-shopping with Sidney and we bought about 10 pieces: coats, blazers (including a Marks & Spencers blazer with shoulder pads!), and dainty silk shirts – FOR ONLY 30 EUROS IN TOTAL. If you do the math, this means that we paid about 3 euros per coat. This beautiful trench is one of them, and I decided to wear it to our Garde Robe interview with NinkiMag. (I’ll tell you more about that once the video is out, but we got interviewed by a streetwear magazine based in Lyon last Sunday!)

trench-coat-wiwtw252

Event: Garde Robe’s interview for NinkiMag

trench-coat-wiwtw207

This trench, you guys, is just one of the best things I’ve ever bought and worn. I’ve always wanted a Burberry trench (this one is by Claude Havrey) because of their elegance and length, but they were always so expensive. This one, I found in a vintage shop in Lyon called Emmaus, for only THREE EUROS!!!! I decided to work my entire outfit around this trench, because I wanted to be 100% classy.

trench-coat-wiwtw244

Chokers have been really in this season and I love how this gold one from Pretty Little Thing adds metallic sophistication to my black turtleneck from Zara.

trench-coat-wiwtw256

And then there’s my favorite bag from New Look that I got this summer in Dubai. Its citrus-themed color block design is perfect when you want a statement bag to upgrade your look ! Plus it’s big enough to put just about anything from your computer to your heels inside. (Yes, this is an important factor for me because when I go out in cute but torturous heels, I like to keep a pair of sneakers in my purse just in case. I don’t believe in suffering to be beautiful. How are you attractive when your face is clearly wincing with pain?)

I don’t know who I think I am but I am totally flipping my hair in this picture.

trench-coat-wiwtw269

Finally I wanted the entire focus to be on my trench, bag and choker, so I wore black dress pants from Zara, and my favorite black booties from Zara. 

trench-coat-wiwtw234

trench-coat-wiwtw221

And in case you were wondering who did my hair, I met an amazing hairdresser called Anaelle who does beautiful box braids (and a lot of other hairstyles) for very cheap prices. She was so professional and braided my hair in 4 hours (though it usually takes 7). So if you’re in Lyon and you need your hair done, comment below and I’ll give you Anaelle’s contact information!

trench-coat-wiwtw224

Want my look? Check these out!

Trench coat: $91.00 at Asos
Choker: £6.00 at Pretty Little Thing
Turtleneck: $29.90 at Zara
Pants: $39.90 at Zara
Boots: $49.90 at Zara
Bag: £27.99 at New Look
Lipstick: $6.00 at Colourpop

Stay tuned for new outfits featured in What I Wore This Week by subscribing to Breakfast with the Beatles. Click on the ‘Follow me by Email’ button on the top right-hand corner of this page! ALSO, make sure you check out Garde Robe an international street-style blog by Sidney and me.

 

2 thoughts on “WIWTW: Styling a vintage trench coat with a statement purse

Say something!

